EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

"Providing students with a differentiated curriculum to meet their individual needs"

The Gifted Program within the Benton School District celebrates the individual values, needs, and talents of each identified student and provides unique learning opportunities to advance their educational experiences.

Gifted students are those with high potential whose educational needs, learning characteristics, and abilities require substantially different educational experiences and services not provided for in the regular instructional program.

Our gifted program will:

  • Extend the scope and horizons of curriculum
  • Promote higher level thought processes
  • Incorporate critical and creative thinking skills into instruction
  • Study in-depth areas of interest
  • Foster social and emotional well being
  • Cultivate an awareness and understanding of the world and their place within it
  • Create a sense of community that values the individual

There are several ways to refer a child to the program. The parent/guardian referral link can be found here.

In our commitment to quality education, the Benton School District adheres to the Arkansas Department of Education's Gifted and Talented Rules and Regulations.


Gifted Education Helpful Resources

ACTPSAT/NMSQT Information
AP College BoardArkansas Governor's School
Center for Gifted Education & DevelopmentDuke Talent Search
Hoagies Gifted EducationAGQBA
National Association for Gifted ChildrenSAT
National Merit ScholarshipA.G.A.T.E.

GT Staff

Kristi Chumley, Gifted and Talented and Advanced Placement Coordinator
kchumley@bentonschools.org
501-778-4861 ext. 1038
Anne Felan, Gifted and Talented Facilitator, Angie Grant Elementary
afelan@bentonschools.org
Annette Armstrong, Gifted and Talented Facilitator, Ringgold Elementary
aarmstrong@bentonschools.org
Kim Cole, Gifted and Talented Facilitator, Benton Middle School
kcole@bentonschools.org
Melanie Kiker, Gifted and Talented Facilitator, Howard Perrin Elementary
mkiker@bentonschools.org
Morgan Roseberry, Gifted and Talented Facilitator, Caldwell Elementary
mroseberry@bentonschools.org