From an initial pool of approximately 1.6 million students, Kirsten Garner and Bishop Butler are two of approximately 16,000 students to be named Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. They will now compete to be named National Merit Finalists. We are incredibly proud these students for this amazing accomplishment.

Olivia Jones is a Commended Student in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.  She is being recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by her outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry.  Olivia placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition.

October is National Principals Month, and we want to take this opportunity to recognize all of the Benton School District’s outstanding principals. It is through their hard work, dedication, and commitment that our students and staff are able to excel in many ways. With their leadership and high expectations, our schools have achieved very high levels of success both academically and through extracurricular activities. We are so appreciative to these administrators for the roles they play in helping our students, staff, and district to be among the best in the state.

Benton High School
    Principal - Curt Barger
Benton Junior High School
    Principal - Chad Pitts
Benton Middle School
    Principal - Steve Quinn    

Angie Grant Elementary School
    Principal - Lori Bacon    

Caldwell Elementary School
    Principal - Diane Lovell    

Howard Perrin Elementary School
    Principal - Stacye Shelnut
Ringgold Elementary School
    Principal - Beverly Mayfield

Ryan Taneja won first place in the 2018-2019 International Aviation Art Contest for the state of Arkansas. Ryan competed in Category III and other 14-17 year old students from across the state. This is the fourth time that Ryan has won this competition. Congratulations, Ryan!!

The Benton School District Teacher of the Year was selected from a group of the most skillful and dedicated teachers in the district. This teacher was selected by a panel that included administrators, school board member, a former TOY winner, a retired teacher, and a parent. The 2019 District Toy of the Year is Monica Zaremba! Congratulations!

The Benton School District participates in the Arkansas Teacher of the Year (TOY) program coordinated through the Arkansas Department of Education. Candidates who are are skillful and dedicated teachers are nominated by teachers in their respective buildings. A teacher from each campus was selected as the Building Teacher of the Year by a committee formed by the principal from each respective building. The winner from each building advanced to the District Teacher of the Year competition. CONGRATULATIONS to the 2019 Building Teachers of the Year!

Laura Kyzer Benton High School
Monica Zaremba Benton Junior High School
Jacqueline Daugherty Benton Middle School
Kathryn McCoy Ringgold Elementary
Sara Ward Perrin Elementary
Kara Conrad Caldwell Elementary
Erin Hohman Grant Elementary

Go to top