BHS student, Kolton McAllister, is the 2017 Arkansas State Chess Champion for the D-E class.  He won the award by competing in the all ages state tournament and performing better than all other D and E class players. Congratulations to Kolton and Coach Todd Bevill.

Benton High School math teacher, Corey Boby, was recently selected as a 2017 state finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. He was one of seven Arkansas math and science teachers selected.

Corey Boby – Benton High School in Benton
Travis Fink – Har-Ber High School in Springdale
Kyla Gentry – Ahlf Junior High School in Searcy
Mary Parson – Little Rock Central High School in Little Rock
Carol Stubblefield – Charleston High School in Charleston
Tiffany Taylor – Rogers Heritage High School in Rogers
John Williams – Bryant High School in Bryant

The National Science Foundation, on behalf of The White House, oversees the program that recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use in their classrooms.

A total of 51 Arkansas teachers were nominated. The state review committee selected Gentry, Parson, Stubblefield and Taylor as science finalists and Boby, Fink and Williams as mathematics finalists. Arkansas’ finalists are now eligible to be considered for recognition in 2018 by the national committee.

Each year a national committee comprised of scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards in mathematics, science and computer science from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories, and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity. Teachers who are selected as national PAEMST awardees each receive a $10,000 award, a presidential citation and a trip to Washington, DC, for a series of recognition events, professional development activities and an awards ceremony.

The Arkansas Science Teachers Association and Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics will honor Arkansas’ seven teachers at luncheons during the Arkansas Curriculum Conference Nov. 2 and 3, 2017, at the Little Rock Marriott and Statehouse Convention Center at Little Rock.
To learn more about the awards program, go to

The swim team will have tryouts for the 2017-2018 swim season on September 5th from 4:00-5:00 p.m. at Benton River Center. Makeup tryouts will be September 7th from 4:00-5:00 p.m. Sign-up sheets will be available in the BHS and BJH school offices. Anyone interested should come by and sign up. Students must have a current physical by the day of tryouts.

The Arkansas Times searches for 20 outstanding students to be named to their 2017 Academic All-Star Team.  Each year since 1995 they have honored exceptional seniors, sharing their educational accomplishments and successes outside of school.  This recognition program is a way of spreading good news about today's high school students. Congratulations to Preston Stone for being selected as an Arkansas Times Academic All Star for 2017.

The Benton Athletic Department is proud to announce our fall and winter all-star athletes.  These athletes will compete in the All-Star games this summer during All-Star week.   

Brayden Harris-  Football; Chandler Clift- Football; Haley Hart- Cheer; Laura Beth Warner- Dance

The BHS weightlifting team competed in the state championship weight meet in Alma.  The weightlifting team consisted of 10 lifters taken from the BHS football strength/conditioning program.  This team finished as the 6A/7A State Runner-ups. The team is coached by Michael McClellan and Brad Harris. Team members are: Coleman Harris, Tyler Vandiver, Blake Smith, Preston Stone, Zach Wallace, Brock Morris, Bryson Krebs, Ty Neathery, Braden Harris, and Beau Belcher.

Several members of the Benton Athletic Department competed and placed in their divisions at the annual Big Press competition. Winners are:


Coleman Harris- 3rd place

Sean Thornton-3rd place

Caleb Coffman- 2nd place

Austin Jones- 1st place

Kaylee Croushore-  1st place, 1st Overall girls

Brock Morris- 1st place

Ty Neathery- 1st Place



Upcoming Events

Special Board Meeting
11:30am - 12:30pm
7pm - 9pm
School Board Meeting
5:30pm - 7pm
Go to top