Benton High School math teacher, Corey Boby, was recently selected as a 2017 state finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. He was one of seven Arkansas math and science teachers selected.

Corey Boby – Benton High School in Benton
Travis Fink – Har-Ber High School in Springdale
Kyla Gentry – Ahlf Junior High School in Searcy
Mary Parson – Little Rock Central High School in Little Rock
Carol Stubblefield – Charleston High School in Charleston
Tiffany Taylor – Rogers Heritage High School in Rogers
John Williams – Bryant High School in Bryant

The National Science Foundation, on behalf of The White House, oversees the program that recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use in their classrooms.

A total of 51 Arkansas teachers were nominated. The state review committee selected Gentry, Parson, Stubblefield and Taylor as science finalists and Boby, Fink and Williams as mathematics finalists. Arkansas’ finalists are now eligible to be considered for recognition in 2018 by the national committee.

Each year a national committee comprised of scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards in mathematics, science and computer science from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories, and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity. Teachers who are selected as national PAEMST awardees each receive a $10,000 award, a presidential citation and a trip to Washington, DC, for a series of recognition events, professional development activities and an awards ceremony.

The Arkansas Science Teachers Association and Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics will honor Arkansas’ seven teachers at luncheons during the Arkansas Curriculum Conference Nov. 2 and 3, 2017, at the Little Rock Marriott and Statehouse Convention Center at Little Rock.
To learn more about the awards program, go to


Upcoming Events

School Board Meeting
5:30pm - 7pm
1st Quarter Ends
3pm - 3pm
Go to top