Melissa White was recently named Head Coach of the West All-Star Dance Team.  Ms. White was nominated by other dance coaches from around the state.  Nominations were based on leadership, professionalism, and ability to coach the sport. The list of nominees from around the state was narrowed down to three, and Ms. White emerged with the most votes.  Congratulations, Ms. White!


Kevin Cleghorn, a Howard Perrin parent, voluntarily works the crosswalk at Perrin from 7:15 - 8:00 every morning.  It is such a HUGE help and is much appreciated by the administration and staff!  He not only works the crosswalk, but he does a great job at it – all while smiling and visiting with the students.

For his servant attitude, dependability, and passion for the safety and well-being of the students at Howard Perrin, we honor Mr. Cleghorn with our Spirit of Panther Pride Award.


Benton Middle School student, David Z, recently won first place in the Dawson Co-op Chess Tournament that was held at Henderson State University.  Congratulations, David!


The Benton Panther football team finished a stellar season with a near perfect record.  After the best regular season in school history (11-0-1) and  a conference championship, the Panthers went on to win state runners up.  This was the first time the team had played for a state championship since 1977!  Individual players broke long-standing school records, held opponents to an average of 14.8 points per game and scored an average of 42.1 points per game.  Head Coach, Scott Neathery, was named 6A South Coach of the Year.  Congratulations on a great season, Panthers!

6A Champs
Team Members
Preston S
Matthew G
Drew H
Kyle M
Trey P
Brandon H
Dawson M
Jacob J
Bill B
Dillon D
Mel H
Kyler N
Grant H
Drew D
Taylor C
Casey G
Trevor H
Cason M
Chandler C
Tyrin H
Jacob C
Junior H
Roy B
Ben B
Drew W
Grayson M
Lucas D
Will S
Westyn B
Simeon W
Mitchell B
Nate B
Greg B
Dontae W
Dominic P
Sam B
Preston M
Ty C
Ben B
Braden H
Brett T
Hakeem N
Daniel C
Hunter H
Chandler T
Cooper C
Selleck C
Braylon A
Kellan H
Austin B
Bryson W
Barrett W
Will W
Austin F
Jeremiah B
Brandon B
Chance A
Tim D
Josh G
Nicholas C
Lane A
Grant H
Khamian R
Ben D
Jacob B
Sawyer W
Brayden H
Matt W
John P
Stone P
Dylan M
Chase S
Joseph N
Julius L
Dexter G
Jake T
Alec C
Troy Q
Garrett T
Jasmine R
Jessica M
T'ea M
Sarah S
Courtney H
Yalitza S
Coaching Team
Scott Neathery, Head Coach  ***6A South Coach of the Year***
Benji White, Assistant Head Coach
Brad Harris, Defensive Coordinator
Jason Gentry, Offensive Line Coach
Michael McClellan, Defensive Line Coach


Benton School District was featured on a nationally televised Larry King show called In View. The show was aired on Saturday, September 20, 2014, at 3:30 p.m. local time on the Fox Business Network.

Benton School District Superintendent, Jeff Collum, was contacted in March by one of the executive producers of In View. It was then that Collum learned that Benton had been selected as one of the top districts in the nation and that they wanted to feature the district on their show. Academic performance, technology, and top-performing school status were just some of the criteria used in making their selection. Joel Walters, Executive Producer, also explained that they were looking for schools that are “leading learners into the 21st century.”

A crew from In View came to the district to film on site on May 16, 2014. Filming took place from several sites around Benton and features a local business person, a representative from a non-profit organization, a Benton Middle School student, and Collum.

“We are very proud of this national recognition for our students, staff, and community members,” stated Mr. Collum.

In View


Upcoming Events

3rd Quarter Ends
3pm - 3pm
4th Quarter Begins
7:45am - 7:45am
School Board Meeting
5:30pm - 7pm
Go to top