The Benton High School Chess team won the 4A-7A state chess tournament held at Benton on March 4th.  This makes their third straight state championship.  Jake Martin and Kolton McAllister both went undefeated during the tournament.  Kolton has set a Benton High School record by winning 13 consecutive tournament games.

Tanner Billings
Paul Lovell
Greg Robbins
Jake Martin
Kolton McAllister
Tyler McDorman


William Brister is an all-state member of the 2016-17 Benton Wrestling team.  He is the highest finisher in Benton wrestling history with a record of 35-6 this year.  William won 1st place in the conference tournament and placed 2nd in the state meet.

he 2016-17 Benton Dance team finished the year as State Runners-up.  This team was the overall high point at Bryant Invitational and Benton Invitational.  Kayle Rutherford, Benton Dance Coach, was selected for All Star Dance coach.  The Benton Dance team is a great source of pride for our School District.

Sydney Baker
Josie Benedict
McKinley Clark
DaNashia Cuningkin
Shelby Harding
Autumn Harris
Ashlee Haynes
Leslie Huggs
Macy Johnson
Brittney Lanning
Hope Lavendusky
Shelby Lynch
Hattie Mahoney
Abby Penn
Aubrey Sullivan
Avery Tackett
Madison Thomas
Monica Tompkins
Abby Walker
Laura Beth Warner
Addie Woerner
Kedran Young
Anna Claire Rose - Manager



Fifth Grade Quiz Bowl Team, consisting of students from each elementary school, competed in a quiz bowl tournament at Dawson Co-op on February 22, 2017.  The team won first place in the tournament. Great job students and teachers!

Hudson Chandler
Connor Farmer
Olivia Kruelen
Tanner Holden
Rachel Dudley
Connor Donnelley
Libby Golleher
Brynlee Daniels
Anne Felan (GT Teacher)
Kristi Chumley (GT Teacher)
Morgan Roseberry (GT Teacher)
Annette Armstrong (GT Teacher)

Yusuf Khan received a Grand Award at the Ouachita Mountains Regional Science and Engineering Fair in Hot Springs on February 24th.  This award qualifies Yusuf to compete in the 2017 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Los Angeles, California, in May and includes an all expenses paid trip to the ISEF competition for both Yusuf and his teacher, Donna Smith.

Congratulations to Yusuf Khan and Mrs. Smith!

State Thespian Festival Gold Troupe Status was obtained by serving the community, troupe growth, and a dedication to theatre arts.  The troupe also received an "excellent" rating for their one act "selfie".

Sponsor:  Summer Scott

Makayla McNeil
Isaiah Pineda
Danielle Thompson
ViviAnne Flora
Tyler Robinson
Madison McMichael
Alex Horn
Elizabeth Knoedl
Madleynne West
Bailey Redden
Dixie Watson
Matthew Glover


The Group One Act judges chose the following students to be a part of the all-state cast:

Elizabeth Knoedl
ViviAnne Flora
Tyler Robinson
Alex Horn

Madelynne West was selected by the troupe director to be a part of the all-state crew for her dedication to the show and troupe as a whole .  All-state crew is recognized for their creativity and leadership during the production process of the show. Makayla also participated in college auditions at the thespian festival.  She was given a callback to 5 schools and offered over $50,000 in scholarships.  Congratulations Makayla!



Upcoming Events

Public Meeting
5:30pm - 6:30pm
School Board Meeting
5:30pm - 7pm
Public Meeting
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Go to top