This is a public announcement.  Public school choice in Arkansas allows students to attend a public school in a district other than the one in which they reside.  Parents of students residing in school districts of the following counties:  Clark, Dallas, Grant, Hot Spring, Pike and Saline who want to enroll their children in a public school located within that county have until June 1 to apply to enroll in the fall under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act.

Applications must be postmarked or delivered to the Superintendent of Schools no later than June 1 for a child to be able to enroll for the fall semester.  Transfers shall be granted on a non-discriminatory basis.  Students who have been accepted and enrolled in previous years do not have to reapply as approved transfers remain valid for as long as the student attends that public school.

The following school districts comply with this public school announcement:  Clark County - Arkadelphia, Gurdon, Centerpoint; Dallas County – Fordyce; Grant County – Poyen; Hot Spring County - Bismarck, Glen Rose, Magnet Cove, Malvern Ouachita; Pike County - Kirby, South Pike County; Saline County - Bauxite, Benton, Bryant and Harmony Grove.



The Public School Choice program was established to give parents and students more options with respect to where students attend public school and to enable any student to attend a school in a district in which the student does not reside, subject to the restrictions contained in ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL CHOICE ACT 1227 OF 2013.

Application for Arkansas School Choice

Application for Arkansas School Choice - Spanish

School Choice Rules

2014-2015 School Choice Eligibility

Act 1227 of 2013, which established the Public School Choice Act of 2013, went into effect on April 16, 2013.  The Act includes the following deadlines:

June 1 Students/parents apply for school choice to a nonresident district (with a copy of the application to the resident district).

June 1 The ADE reports to each school district the net maximum number of school choice transfers for the current school year.

August 1 The superintendent of the nonresident district notifies the parent and resident district of the acceptance or denial of a school choice application.